Head of the Advanced Strategic Capabilities Accelerator

Professor Emily Hilder

As Head of the Advanced Strategic Capabilities Accelerator (ASCA), Professor Hilder has led the establishment of ASCA, which is accelerating the development and transition into service of disruptive solutions to priority defence challenges at the pace and scale required to deliver advantage to our war fighters. She is also currently Executive Chair of the Maritime Systems Group for the Technical Cooperation Program.

Professor Hilder joined Defence as Chief Maritime Division in Defence Science and Technology Group in November 2020, and held the role of Chief Platforms from July 2022 to April 2023. Prior to joining Defence she was Director of the Future Industries Institute and Deputy Director of the Australian Research Council (ARC) Research Hub for integrated devices for end-user analysis at low levels at the University of South Australia.

She is a graduate of the University of Tasmania where she completed her PhD in analytical chemistry in 2000. Following postdoctoral positions at Johannes Kepler University (Austria) and the E.O. Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory (United States of America) she returned to Australia and the University of Tasmania (UTAS) in 2004 where she held two ARC Fellowships (APD, Future Fellowship) as well as positions as Assistant Dean of Graduate Research and Head of Chemistry. She was inaugural Director of the ARC Training Centre for Portable Analytical Separation Technologies before relocating to the University of South Australia in 2016. Her research is the field of analytical chemistry and materials science and is focused on the design and application of new materials which can be used to improve analytical measurements. Her work has led to commercial and field adoption in separation science, bioanalysis, disease diagnosis, environment and food science, defence and national security.

Professor Hilder is a Fellow of the Australian Academy of Technology and Engineering and the Royal Australian Chemical Institute (RACI). She has been recognised by a number of awards including the Eureka Prize for Outstanding Science in Safeguarding Australia (2019), RACI Doreen Clarke Analytical Medal (2016), UTAS Foundation Graduate Award (2010). She has also been included in the Analytical Scientist Power Lists from 2013-2017, 2019-2023 including the ‘Top 40 under 40’ and as one of the top 10 leaders in analytical science. She is an Associate Editor of Analytical Chemistry and a member of the Advisory Board of the Australian Maritime College, UTAS.